Old Town is the original settlement, which was founded in 1767. James Carmichael purchased 360 acres of land from Thomas Hughes and laid out the lots of the town, which he called New Lisbon. Carmichaels Borough was incorporated in 1855 from Cumberland Township. The Carmichaels covered bridge, which crosses Muddy Creek in Old Town is unique in that it sits within Borough limits. Although the sign above the bridge states that the bridge was built in 1889, this is incorrect. In 1889 the bridge was renovated. A bridge has stood in that same location since the founding of Old Town. The first post office in Carmichaels began operating in 1822 in Old Town.
The borough is also home to the Greene Academy, the Academy is a unique historic structure of native fieldstone and brick. The original fieldstone section was built in 1790 as an Episcopal Church on land owned by James Carmichael. In 1810, the church trustees offered the use of their building for a school and the brick addition was added. As a pioneer in co-education, the Greene Academy had a Female Department as early as 1837. It continued to serve as the educational center of the county until the founding of Waynesburg College in 1849. With the building of the Carmichaels Borough School in 1893, the Greene Academy closed.
The Greene Academy